And Thou Shalt Call me ‘GHAWD’

So does god exist or is he/she/they a figment of our imagination? Am I stirring a hornet’s nest again? Possibly, but please endeavour to hear this thought out.

This is a debate where a lot of people play their cards very close to their chest due to the sensitive nature of the topic. I, on the other hand, have had this conversation numerous times with various people, deriving varying results. And ironically, the most stimulating conversations I’ve had is with people who strongly support one view; and in this conversation – people who believe in god. I learned two things.

My senior manager I worked with for 2 years is probably one of the most knowledgeable people I know. He’s so incredibly well read and loves to debate. I could spend hours talking about any topic under the sun with him, and it would end up being a conversation where I end being wiser, or atleast with a broader horizon. He’s a staunch follower of Osho, a spiritual teacher who provocatively engages his followers/listeners into non-linear thinking and eventually nurtures them into his line of thinking. So apparently Osho has challenged people into what they believe. If I’m a Hindu and people question my religion, do I defend Hinduism because I truly believe in Hinduism or is it because I happen to be a Hindu. Do I believe in these ideals or do I believe simply what I support?

That’s one of the 2 things I learned from listening to debates between atheists and believers. The atheists just refused to broaden their horizon and accept the existence of god while believers were so annoyed that people questioned what they believed in, rather than their actual beliefs. Atleast, that’s what it seemed like in most cases.

The other thing that I noticed, and is probably the most enlightening thing I’ve got out of being part of these debates, is that which is inconclusive. A god may or may not be extant on what you believe.

Right now you’re probably saying to yourself, “Well that was a rather fruitless conclusion!” However, that may not be the case. Believers are strongly inclined to believe that any misfortune that befalls them or consummation of a task should be attributed to the disposition by their god. Atheists on the other hand, while debunking this ‘bizarre’ notion of believers, go on to say all these are down to your mistakes and efforts which are peppered with incidences of ‘fate’ and ‘luck’. What is fate and what is luck? Phenomena that are incur without bearers intrusion or completely of the person’s hands? You mean they could be controlled by something else, or someone else? Maybe someone like god? Atheists get annoyed and struggle to defend their views after these questions. But really what or who is god or luck?

Personally, I’m not an atheist, Im not a staunch believe of god either. However, I do believe in God and there is a reason I believe in God. Felicity and despondency are borne by fleeting moments of errant decisions or unforeseen and abrupt planned or unplanned events. I’d rather take comfort from the fact there exists a supernatural being who is the reason for a problem or who could be the saviour where a solution looks inconceivable. When your loved one is on a hospital bed, would you rather hear from someone “Don’t worry mate, he/she will be alright soon. Im praying to god everyday” or “Medical reports show that at this stage a recovery is difficult. But I’ll be there for you”?

Man has manufactured deities and ideals like such because we find it hard to digest that the world is indifferent to pain and suffering or human existence. We assign meanings to phenomena based on our subjective experiences with them. We rationalise them as to plans belonging to a God or to notion called fate. It’s difficult to deal with something with a lack of meaning.

So let’s stop sitting on a high chair and judging someone for being a believer. Let’s try to analyse things more subjectively before berating someone on why you think a god doesn’t exist. With some topics, we need to learn that our thoughts or views need to be grounded and humane rather obtuse and godly.

4 comments

  1. You reached the precipice of the answer, and turned around. Fantastic piece of writing, I genuinely loved it :).

    I’ve struggled with this issue for a long time and it took me a while to base my thoughts. Personally, I do not believe in God. I also do not believe in a purpose to my existence. I believe that it is a fantastic coincidence that I am here, and I believe that the whole of creation is sustained by two things – probability, and the environment where in that probability can foster. What is luck, you ask. Luck is a close cousin of Probability. Probability is the seed of existence.

    You are yourself one in a million. As am I. As is everyone else populating this planet.

    Let me explain my beliefs more clearly. When you flip a coin, there is a ‘chance’ that heads will turn up, and there is a ‘chance’ that tails will turn up (You won’t pry too much here I suppose). Now if I were to flip a coin a 100 times, you may get a totally random set of results, or you may observe a fantastic pattern of incidences, or you may get heads a 100 times, or tails a 100 times – who says either possibility is impossible?! Scientifically, the probability of getting heads a 100 times is a FINITE, real number.

    Only 1 in a million sperms goes on to ovulate an egg, which results in…human life.

    As of this moment, there are ever so many possibilities. I could have been in bed, sleeping. I could have been eating. I could have been in Central London. Yet, I am here, at my home in London, reading your blog and typing this up.

    Why does probability seem so improbable here 🙂 ?

    Perhaps we are too poetic. Perhaps we demand too much. As you put it – we ‘LIKE’ the idea of a supreme being who acts as a moral governor of the Universe. It is a fantastically poetic and reassuring idea. But very respectfully speaking, it is a flawed idea, in my opinion. But, to each his own. I am not being politically correct here, though I will admit that is my regular approach. I became an atheist after a LOT of introspection. I understand the intricacies of faith, religion, spiritualism, and everything in between – there’s a very hilly learning curve we have there :).

    Cheers, and congratulations on a great post once again !

    Vivek.

    1. @Vivek Thank you for the kind words 🙂

      Now coming to what you are saying; I think things like you coming across my blog and reading it or the probability of birth of a person based on the success of 1 sperm in several etc can be explained scientifically. They all share a cause and effect understanding and relationship. There are however certain other things which go unexplained.

      Scientists struggle to make sense of some questions and a answers to these seem unfathomable. What came first, the chicken or the egg? Before the big bang how did the gases, particles, matter exist? How did mankind all of a sudden appear when there was only particles present? A patient who doctors deemed to be clinically dead, magically recovers and is healthy a month later? Do we have answers to these questions? Will we every find the answers; its not like there hasn’t been enough time to come with a rational conclusion. Yet it is still lacking.

      Now while an atheist(maybe even you) would say its simply coincidence or luck or fate; these are all terms which are similar to saying God decided the path. What I’m trying to say is that effectively both atheists and believers reach a point where views coincide and they justify their beliefs with the same explanation, albeit with different terms.

  2. Great post! Enjoyed reading your take on it.

    But..Atheists are narrow minded? I’m not so sure….
    To proclaim that there is no God whatsoever demands a little bit of courage because

    1. You are blaming yourself for the wrong things that happen to you while the theists take comfort in attributing it all to God

    2. If by a small chance you think God MIGHT exist and He’s hearing you say that, he’s not gonna like you very much! You’re taking a chance..

    2. Who are we kidding, this is a world of believers. A world that WANTS to believe no matter what logic says. So if you’re an atheist, you probably questioned things a lot. And you’re convinced enough to defy the world’s beliefs.

    But having said this, I am a believer. And a pretty strong one at that. You bring me all the proof in the world to defy God’s existence, I will still believe. Why, because I don’t think God is someone to be understood. Just someone to be felt. Am I delusional? Maybe.

    You really think God thinks like a man? That he’s someone whose mystery can be cracked by answering a series of logical questions posed by one of his creations? Oh, I don’t think so.

    To each, his own. We’re all free to do what we believe in. Great post, again! 🙂

    1. Thanks a lot Ferdina! I think the freedom to believe should be offered more by atheists. Like I said in my post, I wouldn’t classify myself as a true believer, I leave a lot to be decided by science, there are some matters however that I do wish to believe are in control by someone of higher authority and presence.

Leave a Reply

